Sägezahn - Free

Free Download

A bunch of saw.

The Instrument

It´s simple! Sägezahn is the German term for saw (sawtooth) – a certain type of signal generator wave, especially used in older times when synthesizers used subtractive synthesis, which is a simple acoustic model that works with a simple signal generator followed by filter, envelopes and LFOs. Saegezahn contains an assortment of sounds which were made by using the nasty sawtooth generator/ oscillators and filters of the Korg MS20, Roland JX-3P, Ensoniq ESQ-1 and Electro Harmonix Microsynth. Be assured Sägezahn is suitable for almost every music genre, even film-scores.

The ../content

We sampled all mentioned machines and processed and edited the sounds enriched by filter works. In 2015 we updated the Sagezahn from the scratch. Firstly we put together all separate patches into one complex patch covered by a brand new GUI. It is now possible to play all the former saw patches as sample source at one time. You can layer many of them - as much as you like. There are 8 sample sets, which are:
  • Saw 72, a fat and warm saw
  • Funk Boy punchy and phasing saw
  • Juno typical saw
  • SyncClavs typical Juno clavinet simulation
  • Phat Ape big and aggressive saw
  • X-esq 80ies alike saw
  • MS Fart 1 Osc pure saw of Korg MS20
  • MS Dbl Saw 2 Osc pure saw of Korg MS20
Furthermore we created a realistic „synthesizer“ gui, with lots of options and abilities to tweak the entire sound. You can modulate the filter and the volume, control the resonance, the decay or the attack period of the freqeuncy. You can add a distortion, aa chorus or just detune a doubled set of voices. Finally we equipped the Sagezahn with a simple but effective arpeggiator. All makes great fun and is now free to use.

The Package

One master complex complex patch 8 sample sets (approx. data size is 70 MB). For more details please read the reference manual. In order to use the Sagezahn without restrictions Kontakt 4 full version is required

Listen to Sagezahn

SEVEN additional: Real Guitar & Drums Score, © by EvG
TIME FOR COMPLAINTS additional: real Guitar, Vox and different drums Score, © by Drowning by Numbers
TIME FOR COMPLAINTS solo: saw synths Score, © by Drowning by Numbers